UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (7) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: USMCkumate Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 74759  
Subject: My retirement plan. Any advice welcome. Date: 9/22/2008 6:06 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 2
I am looking for any advice about my retirement plan. I am very new to investing and I've used my bank for all my investing questions so far.

Some Info about me that will hopefully help you understand my situation better.

I am 29 years old..this month. I have been in the Marines for about 12 years. I have 8 years till I can retire but I will probably do an extra year so total of 9 years till retirement.

I do not donate to the TSP. (military version of the 401k) I am currently in Iraq so my paycheck is tax free for awhile and due to that I will be in the low income tax zone this coming up year. Expecting a return of 7 grand ish. I currenlty have around 20 grand in savings and 10 grand in the Savings deposit program here in Iraq. When I return it will be near 12 grand when im done. So around 32 grand in total when I return.

I am Married with a 3 year old boy and my credit score is around 660 ish (missed some payments when I was young). I have no debt. Only bill is rent and cable. Around 1400 in total a month. I clear about 5600 a month. My wife is in college working on her masters. She has no income and no credit..if not closer to bad credit. (Trying to fix that)

SO MY PLAN