No. of Recommendations: 0
My SIL just listed their home in the Philadelphia area. The husband found the realtor, who is new at the job. So far she has: listed their townhome as a stand-alone single family, used pictures of the interior taken before it was cleaned up, put the wrong date in the listing for an Open House (5 people showed up but were sent away), and used comps from the neighborhood from single family homes with yards to justify the price of a row house without property.

OY! Please insist on viewing the MLS listing for errors/approval before it is posted!

Please also note that what a Realtor does is dependent on area. Looked at buying property in North NJ and was stunned at how little Realtors did. They were effectively tour guides that unlocked the house and let you in. Purchase and sales agreements were subject to lawyer review and were not binding until this was completed. I was an agent in the Philly burbs and because it is such a litigious area, there is little an agent is supposed to tell you in fear of being sued. We are trained to provide a source from which you can make a decision, not make suggestions. Give you the data and suggest a range of pricing, not tell you what price to set. "Be the source of the source, not the source," is literally what is drilled in to us. It's what drove me out of the industry. IMO a Realtor's value is in their advice, not putting you on the MLS and I did not want a career in which I had to be constantly protecting myself. People have been sued for setting too high a price, too low a price, etc. You get sued just because you can be, not because you do something wrong. Had one client tell me she was going to sue the listing agent and sellers because they misrepresented the property, which I was able to diffuse by telling her where the information was to be found re complaints on the 5 inspections that were done, (4 of which I was able to get done for her for free when the home inspection flagged issues.) It's telli