Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (11) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: pife2u Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 27450  
Subject: need lots of help Date: 11/6/2003 11:29 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Here it goes....... I'm an absolute noob at this stuff. The main reason I'm here is because the company I work for took away our pension, and the 401k they have isn't the greatest I've ever seen, so I'd like to start investing on my own to make sure my wife and I don't go broke when we're older. I already have an IRA(axp new dimensions), and I am already investing in a mutual fund(pioneer class A), but I don't have much money in either of those. What I'm hoping to accomplish is to start buying some stocks using the advice from this site and build up a decent portfolio to supplement my retirement. My questions are........

1. Should I get a broker, or use Ameritrade or something of the sort?

2. Should I save up a larger sum of money and buy alot at once, or could I buy a few at a time, hope they go up, and then sell and buy something else and continue this cycle? The reason I ask this is because I don't have alot of money to put down all at once.

3. Is the IRA and the mutual fund I'm investing in worth a crap, or should I check into others? Neither one seem to be doing what I'd call "great" recently, but both seem to have done well over the long haul. Anyone have any insight on those two?

4. If I were to post the funds that are in my 401k, could someone help me to decide which ones I should put my money in?