UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (7) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: gompers99 Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 76397  
Subject: New to IRA Date: 7/31/2007 12:42 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Hi everyone,
I'm new to this site and to investing. I have just opened an account for my IRA, but have no idea where to start. I am just turning 30, and will be able to max out my IRA this year. I have very little knowledge about diversifying...can anyone out there help me get started?
Print the post Back To Top
Author: mrparrotfez Big red star, 1000 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 58573 of 76397
Subject: Re: New to IRA Date: 7/31/2007 1:56 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 1
Howdy, Gompers.

First useful lesson: if you go with mutual funds, you can accept higher turnover (how often they buy and sell) because you don't get hit with the resulting annual capital gains.

Second useful lesson: most people are probably best off in an S&P 500 index mutual fund. To outperform that takes some work and knowledge, and many funds do not achieve it.

Third useful lesson: mutual funds are (mostly) naturally diversified, so they are one good way to start out diversifying. We all define diversification differently. For some, it means having money in both equities and fixed income as well as real estate. For others it means a diverse collection of the US stock market. For some (myself included) it means diversification throughout the world.

Fourth useful lesson: don't invest beyond your risk tolerance. Before you buy something, ask yourself how you'd feel if it took a 10% poooooop the very next day--because it might. If the answer is 'no fear--I'm in for the long haul', then you are probably okay.