UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (5) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: Matt83076 Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 75539  
Subject: newbie question: Traditional/Roth? Date: 11/22/2000 1:55 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
This is my first time in the discussion boards, and I am hoping for a little guidence concerning weather I should open a regular or roth ira. I have been messing with the calculators and I am a bit confused. I will likely be having a little trouble making the maximum contribution to an ira for a few years (I am 24 and trying to start another job).

My question is: would it be better to start out with a traditional ira, and then change to a roth when I can make the maximum contribution? Or should I just start out with the Roth and be done? It seems to me that if you can't make the max contribution per year, a tradional ira is better. But if you can contrubute enough to make up for the tax, a roth is better. If so, is it even worth it to try and convert later on? Thanks for any help!!!
Print the post Back To Top
Author: tsouth Two stars, 250 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 26278 of 75539
Subject: Re: newbie question: Traditional/Roth? Date: 11/22/2000 7:28 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
My question is: would it be better to start out with a traditional ira, and then change to a roth when I can make the maximum contribution? Or should I just start out with the Roth and be done? It seems to me that if you can't make the max contribution per year, a tradional ira is better. But if you can contrubute enough to make up for the tax, a roth is better. If so, is it even worth it to try and convert later on? Thanks for any help!!!