No. of Recommendations: 20
How much is enough to retire? When planning for retirement, I used to think that everything mattered. I'm not an engineer, but I have heard a number of engineers make the statement that, "Nothing doesn't matter." Before I decided it was really time to get out of the race, I kept increasing the amount of money I thought I would need in order to retire. My purpose was to make sure that I never would regret not waiting until I had saved a little more to take care of every eventuality. When I decided that I really needed to get out of the race, I looked at two things: what I really would need; and what I really would like to have. I had more than I really needed, but I had a little less than I wanted. All in all, it seemed like the two lines had gotten as close as they needed to get and that it was time to retire. I have never looked back. The time to retire is when the "I really need to" joins up with the "can do," thus making it possible "to do." Eeverything else just gets in the way.
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 2
I'm curious--has anybody here whose work compensated them at an "ordinary" rate--whatever that means, but let's say under $60K a year--retired early?

Also, has anybody used the Financial Independence guidelines outlined by Vicki Robin and Joe Dominguez in their book, Your Money or Your Life? (They claim you can retire in seven years, no matter what you make, by following their program.)

No. of Recommendations: 1
I'm curious--has anybody here whose work compensated them at an "ordinary" rate--whatever that means, but let's say under $60K a year--retired early?

Welcome to the board, Xcentric

Though not a perfect answer, Art created a couple of polls in september asking how much the folks on this board earned-but he let us partly retired and not yet retired answer mixed in with those fully early retired.

http://boards.fool.com/Message.asp?mid=13242852

http://boards.fool.com/Message.asp?mid=13242860