UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (5) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: tspog Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 50181  
Subject: Novice recommendation Date: 10/23/1999 11:14 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I'm looking for some recommendations for an on-line broker. I'm new to stocks after about 6 years of mutual funds. I've received info from E Trade, DATEK, Ameritrade and a few others and they seem pretty similar from what I can see. I'd appreciate any recommendations - the kind of word of mouth stuff you can't get from company propganda - about any of these.

Thanks,

Tom
Print the post Back To Top
Author: wzm Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 18921 of 50181
Subject: Re: Novice recommendation Date: 10/23/1999 7:58 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 2
Hi Tom,

on Aug, 9 I posted the following message (#16461) to the board after spending a lot of time reading a lot of messages on the "Discount Broker" issue.

Reading a lot of messages of this board I found a link to Donald Johnson's page

www.sonic.net/donaldj

There is a large amount of information about online brokers on his pages which are by the way free of ads.

If you are new to the "how to select an odb" question first read his web contribution before getting bored with all those complaints on a specific broker on this board.
(End of message 16461)

(I actually don't know how to post the old text as a reply, so I cut and pasted it)

On that message I got a reply (#16485) with a bunch of internet addresses all concerning about broker rankings. Meanwhile I studied all those and Don Johnson's still is my favorite. But all are good ones but come to different rankings.

The overwiew that is easiest to read you will find on
www.kiplinger.com