UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (5) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: Larry01Gott Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 3433  
Subject: NTE Beta, and betas in general: Date: 9/29/2003 11:06 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 19
Danish says, "Even if NTE's beta is 1.2 in my stock program, it certainly feels like 1.9."

Danish, I've been calculating my own Betas for about 4 years for that very same reason -- the basic inaccuracy of the financial services' beta. But first, this for everybody:

What is Beta?
Beta is a measurement of the volatility of a stock compared to the market in general. [Usually to the universe of stocks on US exchanges]
Volatility, used in this sense, means "amount or degree of responsiveness to market moves and direction".

The average beta is approximately 1.00, and stocks can be much less volatile than the market (boring), or much more volatile (ballistic).

How do I use beta to help determine approximate price movement:
Here are four examples, during a week (or month, or any period) where the market moves 10% [theoretically, up or down]:
1. A stock with a beta of 1.00 will tend to move approx 10% when the market moves 10%.
2. A stock with a beta of 2.00 will tend to move approx 20% when the market moves 10%.
3. A stock with a beta of 0.60 will tend to move approx 6% when the market moves 10%.
4. NTE, with a stated beta of 1.20 will tend to move 12% when the market moves 10%.

Except for this problem:

Danish hit on the problem, when he said concerning NTE, "It certainly feels like 1.9"

It OUGHT to feel like 1.9 -- its actually much higher than that!