Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (6) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: ElleRB CAPS All Star Motley Fool One Everlasting Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 120809  
Subject: NY State estimated tax help Date: 4/4/2011 8:49 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Hello,

I am a young, novice investor who just moved to NYC. As I am new to being a self-employed 1099 worker and filing quarterly taxes, I would greatly appreciate help with the estimated tax payment I need to submit by April 18! Background: I get paid $50,000/year with obviously nothing withheld.

I'm running into two stumbling blocks that I can't seem to answer via Google search:

NY STATE (Form IT-2105-I)

1. Line 1, "amount of NY adjusted gross income." How do I calculate this? If I will solely be working in NY in 2011, is this amount simply my AGI that I estimated ($45,900)?

2. Line 25, "110% of personal income tax shown on 2010 income tax return," and Line 26, "the lesser of lines 24/25," which is the required annual payment. For me, if I calculated correctly, Line 25 is far, far less; so why did I have to fill out this entire form w/ all the calculations instead of just calculating 110% of my 2010 income tax? Perhaps I am using the wrong number; is the personal income tax "total NY State tax" (line 50) and "Total NYC tax" (line 55) of the state return (IT-203)?

Thank you.
Print the post Back To Top
Author: Patzer Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 112971 of 120809
Subject: Re: NY State estimated tax help Date: 4/4/2011 9:41 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!