UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (4) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: Illinokie Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 308881  
Subject: One good card / company Date: 5/11/1998 12:56 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I'm new to reading the cc board, but I have just read about 50 posts from the last couple of days. It seems that everyone's bad experiences come from large cc companies such as Advanta, MBNA, Citibank, etc. I want to tell you all about one company that offers a card consistently ranked among the best in America by Bank Rate Monitor, consumer groups, and others: USAA.

For those of you who've never heard of USAA, the name stands for United Services Automobile Association, hq'd in San Antonio. The original USAA is an auto and property insurer which limited its clientele to active and retired US military officers and senior NCO's, and their dependents. The insurance company is still around, and insurance offerings are still limited to only those people. My father was in the Army and thus I became a customer of USAA for insurance.

But the customers of the financial arm of USAA are not limited to those meeting the criteria above. The first USAA product I had - and have to this day 7 years later - is a Mastercard. The rate is 12% with no annual fee. They don't raise your credit limit without ASKING you first. They don't charge all kinds of outrageous fees like "account dormancy" and "account closure" fees. They also offer very good savings and certificate rates, not to mention loan rates. I have a mortgage and an auto loan with them as well.