Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (9) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: bertjay33 Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 1202  
Subject: Options in trouble Date: 12/3/2012 11:48 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I'm a rookie at options, and need advice. I have puts for December 22 on Microsoft and on National Oilwell Varco. In both cases, the stock price has dropped below the price where I can break even.

My questions: Should I cut my losses and get out of these puts, and if so how? Or should I let them take their course and acquire the stocks for their dividends or future growth?
Print the post Back To Top
Author: Zumba Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 1107 of 1202
Subject: Re: Options in trouble Date: 12/3/2012 3:52 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
bertjay - I presume you sold puts on MSFT and NOV? Do you have the money in your account to purchase the shares of both stocks?

In order to decide whether to take your losses and get out or take delivery of the stock, you should decide how much you need the money. Are you ok with having money tied up in both stocks for months or even a few years? Both are very good companies and I have little doubt that their stocks will move back up over the next few months.