UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (12) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: CVSUSN Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 135242  
Subject: OT: Last Day Date: 7/26/2013 12:49 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 33
In the office. Technically, I've resigned, but at age 62 I'll receive a tiny retirement on top of my military retirement. I have real challenges with some of the TMF representation here, but their investment recommendations have been spot on . . . particularly Netflix . . . which have allowed us the opportunity to retire early.

What I did: The last three letters above in my name will give a clue. I'm a retired Navy ship driver who served on both coasts in various capacities ashore and afloat. My last duty assignment sent me to the Naval War College in Newport, RI at the command's request as a "war gamer." The games were all military focused with senior civilian leaders participating . . . until 9/11/2001.

In October of that year we received a request to assist FDNY looking at certain challenges they faced both from a threat stand point and organizationally. As you'll recall their ranks were devastated. Word passed to NYPD where they just hired Frank Libutti, retired LGEN who commanded Marine Forces Pacific, as a deputy police commissioner. We then conducted games for NYPD where Police Commissioner Ray Kelly participated. After that it was a capstone game for NYC's Office of Emergency Management. It's the city equivalent to FEMA. Michael Bloomberg participated. These civilian Homeland Security games opened a new venue . . . which I led.