UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (2) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: jm41 Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 75383  
Subject: overseas Date: 6/23/1998 4:42 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Hello all,
I am new to investing (though I shouldn't be -- it's something I've found infinitely confusing and thus have avoided for too long). Have a couple of questions.

I'm a 31-year-old American living in England. I work full-time in England and am married to a British citizen. I contribute to my company's pension policy here, which will pay me an annuity when I retire that will be calculated from a fraction of my final salary multiplied by the number of years I have accumulated working for this company. First question: does it make sense to 'buy extra years' in this policy by paying more money into the pension scheme? The maximum number of years you are allowed is 40, which I am unlikely to reach unless I do pay extra money in. But the money I pay in will not be before tax (25% in this country, even for a low earner like me), and it will not be matched by my company. It seems that extra money could be invested better elsewhere, because then I will be able to take advantage of market growth. Any thoughts?

One idea I have had is to take advantage of the fact that I do occasionally do computer work for my father, who owns a small company in the States. I never ask him to pay me for this, and the company does not make enough that it can afford to. But I was wondering if it would make sense for me to contribute some money to his company so that it could pay me for this work and then I could put that into my IRA in the states (I have a small traditional one). Am I mad?

This leads me on to my third question. Can my husband (who, like I said, is a British citizen) have an IRA in the States if he gets paid money for work done in the States?