Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (7) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: Maddjoka One star, 50 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 252  
Subject: Re: Pension Fund Acct--help Date: 1/20/2004 4:07 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 3
Oy, pension accounting. That's a pain. I should warn you, I'm not a CPA yet; I'm a student who's studying for the May exam. But at least that means I've worked with pensions in the past couple of years. I'm sifting through my textbook (published in 2001) for this one.

kitkat sez:
**net benefit obligation is the amount payable at time of filing
"Payable" is a bit inaccurate here, since if everybody retired right now, many would not be eligible for benefits, so those funds would be forfeited. But in a larger context, yes. Actuaries use a lot of statistics to factor in retirement and death and all that fun stuff.

**sevice cost is obligation increase retroactively due to improved benefits
Having trouble with the semantics, but I think you're on the right track. That's the increase in pension liability because of the fact that every employee now has an additional year of service.

**interest cost is the increase of present value due to being one year closer to payout
**benefits paid is money paid to retirees

Yep.

**obligation is current pension obligation
If you're referring to the line right after benefits, then it's just a matter of Jan. 1 versus Dec. 31. Note also that the ending balance for 2000 is the beginning balance for 2001.

**fair value is the current value of assets of the plan
**actual return is loss or gain on investment(loss in this case)
**contributions is the amount FNF paid in

Those all sound good.

**fair value is what the pension plan is worth and in this case they are underfunded
**funded staus at end of year is how much they are underfunded