No. of Recommendations: 0
Im new to Fooldom, and asked this question at Fools and their money Board, and did not receive a response. was it the wrong Board?
Anyway, Iwant to refinance my mortgage, and at 1st,before I found TMF, I was going to get a 15 year loan to replace a 8.75% note, with 25 years remaining.
I have no plans to sell with in 5 years.
After reading TMF Investment guide, 13 steps, and
You have more than you think, I want to invest in stocks more than ever.My question is what to do with my CC, and car dept. If I get a 30 year mortgage and add the dept (11k cc, 9k car) into the loan, I would "free up" about $700/m, with loan of 142k and payments of approx $1200. I could prepay $200/m and have $500 remaining to invest, IS THIS FOOLISH ?

Thanks for any help

hoping to be a Foolplayer
Print the post Back To Top
Foolplayer Wrote:
<Im new to Fooldom, and asked this question at Fools and their money Board, and did not receive a
response. was it the wrong Board?>

No, it was the right board. I couldn't figure what exactly you were asking. After a quick read, I thought you were telling us what you were going to do. For other Fools, it might have been lost in the noise.

<My question is what to do
with my CC, and car dept. If I get a 30 year mortgage and add the dept (11k cc, 9k car) into the
loan, I would "free up" about $700/m, with loan of 142k and payments of approx $1200. I could
prepay $200/m and have $500 remaining to invest, IS THIS FOOLISH ?>

My take on this is that it is going to be worth your while to refinance. But the question still remains: should you add the CC and car debt? If you decide to do that, it solves the problem in the short term. The big question in my mind is: In three years are you going to have a larger mortgage, another 11K in CC debt, and have to replace your current car? My point is, you may have to address why you have 11K in CC debt before considering investing.

Mike