Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (11) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: arlie5 Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 121113  
Subject: Pay the tax or not? Date: 7/26/2000 6:34 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I am a newbie to this format. I have a question.

I am 57 yrs old. I have a six figure sum in a pre-tax account earning 8.5% guraranteed. When I reach 70 1/2, the fed will determine at what age I will die, and require me to formulate a plan that will require me to divest that fund by the date that they set.

I know that the normal tax strategy is to defer paying taxes until you are forced into it, however, I am thinking that I should begin taking, say, $2000 per mo. out of it now, pay the taxes, and reinvest in one of the index funds on a monthly basis.

The theory behind my thinking is that by beginning earlier, I will be required to take smaller divestments, hence they will be in a lower tax bracket, that I would be taking advantage of dollar cost averaging, and the new investment will have the opportunity of taking advantage of the time factor (or what's left of it at my age). Also, if the economy goes South, then in 10 years or so, I would only have depleted about half of the guaranteed account, and have some of my nest egg still intact.

Should I begin the strategy now, or wait until 70 1/2?

Another related question, considering brokerage fees, if my strategy is viable, should I take a once a year sum from the original account, or a monthly sum?

Thank you,

Arlie

Print the post Back To Top
Author: JackH One star, 50 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 38100 of 121113
Subject: Re: Pay the tax or not? Date: 7/27/2000 1:22 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!