UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (7) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: ThyPeace Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 308519  
Subject: Paying some forward Date: 3/11/2014 9:45 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
So, I am not an expert on how to make a zillion bucks -- obviously, since I still have a day job and not as a CEO of some mega corporation either. But I can think my way through numbers pretty well, and I am not a sucker for quick fixes. I've been thinking about finding a way to give something back, and one way that might work is to give some help to people who are struggling financially. Chatting on a message board gives some help, but I would like to do something a little more local that might involve actually, you know, shaking someone's hand.

Anyone have any suggestions on where to look to help out some?

ThyPeace, lives in the MD suburbs of DC.
Print the post Back To Top
Author: aj485 Big gold star, 5000 posts Feste Award Nominee! Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 308030 of 308519
Subject: Re: Paying some forward Date: 3/11/2014 10:04 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 1
Anyone have any suggestions on where to look to help out some?

ThyPeace, lives in the MD suburbs of DC.

I googled

financial literacy volunteer opportunities dc

and here's an example of a link that I got to after a couple of clicks: http://www.whfdc.org/content.asp?pl=68&sl=76&content...

You might also try senior centers or women's shelters, or if there's a Habitat for Humanity in your area, they run financial education classes for people who want to become homeowners.

Good luck in finding hands to shake!

AJ