UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (7) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Prev | Next | Next Thread
Author: room335 Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 76095  
Subject: Pick Apart My Retire Early Plan Date: 1/5/2000 12:17 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I am a 46 year old professional with a spouse and two teenagers. My current salary is $115,000/year. My spouse is a manager and makes $50,000/year. I can retire at age 50 with a guaranteed lifetime annuity of 50% of my salary plus annual cost of living increases. There is little likelihood of layoffs or downsizing where I work, but on the other hand little likelihood of promotions or major salary increases.

I have a 401k plan which is totally invested in the S&P 500 index (currently the only investment option) and the current balance is $350,000. $15,000 deferred salary a year goes into the 401k. I currently live in one of the top 5 highest cost of living/state taxation states. My oldest child will start college in 2 years. My spouse and I have in addition the following assets: $100,000 in other IRA's; $1 million in stocks; $500,000 home equity. I have no equity position in my company and the stocks do not pay much of a dividend stream. I have a big mortgage. State income tax is over $10,000 a year. Cash stream is currently $165,000/year gross but mortgage and state taxes alone take about $60k/year.

At age 50, I assume I will make $120,000 a year and have $500,000 in my 401(k). I am planning to retire then which give me a 50% annuity of $60,000/year. Assuming I transfer my $500,000 401(k) balance to a 72(t), at 8%/yearly withdrawal for 10 years, I will have $40,000/year in 72(t) income.