Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (12) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: jimialvin Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 2851  
Subject: Piraat Belgian Ale - Clone Recipe Date: 1/12/2013 2:17 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I am a newbie at brewing - only brewing a light lager so far . I want to step up a little and try the recipe in the link below . Do you think this would be cost prohibitive ? It seems that some of the details may have been left out in this recipe , also . I would appreciate any comments from you pros !

... James ....
Print the post Back To Top
Author: jimialvin Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 2726 of 2851
Subject: Re: Piraat Belgian Ale - Clone Recipe Date: 1/12/2013 2:18 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Oops , I forgot the link ... lol

http://beersmithrecipes.com/viewrecipe/36160/piraat

Author: LakeEffect Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 2727 of 2851
Subject: Re: Piraat Belgian Ale - Clone Recipe Date: 1/12/2013 7:11 PM
First off, lagers are more difficult to brew than ales, so you're doing well if you're doing light lagers well. As far as the recipe you linked, it only looks expensive (to me) on two counts: first, a tripel is a big beer, requiring more grain, and secondly, there's a lot of adjuncts that add to the price (coriander, orange peel, sugar, etc).