Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (6) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: RCMX One star, 50 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 121219  
Subject: Point Deduction on a refinance Date: 12/22/1998 9:30 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I am refinancing my home, in Georgia, (primary residence) on a 30 year fixed at 7%. I am coming down from a rate of 7.375 and dropping some PMI, so why not do it, huh? I know, the rate is a little high, but it is a no-fee refinance. "No Cost to Me...Lender pays everything. The reason that I am choosing a no-cost is that I am not sure how long I will be in the house. I have been in my house for a little over a year. The note is about 150k.

Can I deduct any points that the lender pays on my refinance? This is my first time refinancing.

Any help?

Thanks
Print the post Back To Top
Author: Domingo Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 7462 of 121219
Subject: Re: Point Deduction on a refinance Date: 12/22/1998 9:37 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
<<Can I deduct any points that the lender pays on my refinance? This is my first time refinancing.>>

As far as I know, you can only deduct points on the purchase of the residence. No deduction is allowed for refinances.

Domingo

Author: tritha Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 7469 of 121219
Subject: Re: Point Deduction on a refinance Date: 12/22/1998 12:37 PM
Can I deduct any points that the lender pays on my refinance? This is my first time refinancing.

I think you want to know if you can deduct points you paid to the lender on the refinance.