Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
My new CPA wants me to add up internet purchases for the year and pay tax. Previous one didn't . Curious what percent of people do this . Do you pay taxes on your internet shopping?
Yes
No
I have Amazon.com in my pants...

Click here to see results so far.

Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 1
My new CPA wants me to add up internet purchases for the year and pay tax. Previous one didn't . Curious what percent of people do this . Do you pay taxes on your internet shopping?

I assume you are talking about your state's use tax. Here we have the option of either adding up our out-of-state purchases or pay a percentage of our taxable income.

PSU
I have been reporting online purchases for several years. I don't want to cross the CA FTB when they have the law clearly on their side.

Now that Amazon is collecting sales tax, the amount Amazon has already collected applies. For our taxes this year, Amazon had already collected about half.

We make a couple of international purchases a year. This year international purchases were around $400. International purchases are reported to customs and are likely easily traced.
No. of Recommendations: 2
I try to pay my New Jersey End Use Tax each year. My friends think I am crazy, but I wonder what would happen if they were audited and could not even come up with a good-faith attempt at paying tax due.

My biggest supplier is Amazon.com, but there are others too. The tax in NJ is 7% for most things. If I buy something from out of state, and the selling state collects no sales tax, I must pay 7%. If the state collects less than 7%, I need pay only the difference.