Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (2) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: ToesOnTheNose Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 21940  
Subject: Question about flash... Date: 3/19/2004 3:34 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I am fairly new to the world of flash. I have purchased and have been experimenting with some pretty heavy duty flash equipment.

Just to level set the discussion:

I use Canon EOS 1V camera bodies
I also use Mamyia 6x7 Pro II

My flash collection consists of:
Handle Mount Metz 70-5
Metz 54-3
3 3200B Visatec Monolights

This weekend I was doing some portraits. The couple had deep set eyes. So, I was using my 35mm with the Metz 54-3 on a Stroboframe for fill-in flash. But, I wasn't quite getting it because the light was coming at an angle, and I couldn't turn them because there was some background I was trying to capture.

So, as I suspected, when I got the photos back, they were very good, except the eyes are dark in some. In a few photos the eyes are so dark that you can't see any eyes - just black holes. I also made a mistake because I should have metered on the eyes, then the fill-in may have caught that. I'm nto sure yet, i'll have to try again someday.

What would have been perfect was to have a flash set at a 45 degree angle to the couple. That would have eliminated all the shadow, I think.

As I said, I am pretty new to using flash. However, I have invested a lot in it because I am becoming more intrigued by it as a new tool in the tool belt. I suppose it's a natural progression in the learning curve.