UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (3) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: n7049 Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 76397  
Subject: Question About IRA Overcontribution Date: 12/21/1999 10:30 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Hello all,

This is my first post, and while I did look several places on this site (and a few others) for the solution, I must admit that I did not check everywhere.

Anyway, I am a college student in my early twenties and I have had a Roth IRA for a couple of years. I usually contribute $2000 from savings at the beginning of the year and then earn at least that much through one or more part-time jobs. However, this year I transferred schools at the end of the spring semester and didn't work much during the summer or fall. During the rush to adjust to a new campus, I must admit that I sort of forgot about the IRA.

Now it is days to the end of the year, and I realize that I am at least $1000 short of my goal. I am not currently in a position to earn what I need before January 1st. Is it possible to just pay taxes on the difference and leave it in the account? If not, can I somehow have the difference credited to the next tax year?

I realize I need to contact the IRA manager and have it taken care of. However, I would like to know my options before I make that call. Thanks in advance for any advice anyone can provide!

Regards,
n7049
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Print the post  
UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (3) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next

Announcements

The Retire Early Home Page
Discussion on accelerating retirement day.
Foolanthropy 2014!
By working with young, first-time moms, Nurse-Family Partnership is able to truly change lives – for generations to come.
When Life Gives You Lemons