At Doral on Friday, I was watching Fulton Allem on the fifth hole. He placed his second shot into a greenside bunker. It was a nice, uphill lie, and I figured getting it on would be no problem. However, he played a shot and left the ball in the bunker. On his next shot he hit the ball out of the bunker into another bunker. In disgust he slammed his club into the sand. He then went to the next bunker, got out and two-putted for a 7.After getting over the thrill of seeing a tour player emulate my game, I wondered if he had incurred a penalty for grounding his club in one bunker while his ball was in another bunker. The rules prohibit testing the ground in a hazard “or any similar hazard” when your ball is in a hazard. Does grounding the club constitute “testing the ground?” Or are you only prohibited from actually testing (e.g., making a practice swing) the ground in the hazard where your ball lies?
Best Of |
Favorites & Replies |
Start a New Board |
My Fool |
BATS data provided in real-time. NYSE, NASDAQ and NYSEMKT data delayed 15 minutes.
Real-Time prices provided by BATS. Market data provided by Interactive Data.
Company fundamental data provided by Morningstar. Earnings Estimates, Analyst Ra