UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (7) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: ccross Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 127807  
Subject: Quick question Date: 5/28/1999 6:03 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Good day to all. I have money in a mutual fund that I would like to use as a down payment on a home. Does anyone know if this would be considered income and if I would have to pay income taxes on it first? I'm very new to this, so if it's a silly question, please bear with me.

Also, I plan on taking advantage of the one-time ability to withdraw $10,000 from my IRA to use as a down. I realize that this is considered income, but how does that work exactly with regards to my home purchase and tax filing?

Thanks!
Print the post Back To Top
Author: 13492 Three stars, 500 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 3868 of 127807
Subject: Re: Quick question Date: 5/31/1999 2:55 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Author: ccross
<I have money in a mutual fund that I would like to use as a down payment on a home. Does anyone know if this would be considered income? Also, I plan on taking advantage of the one-time ability to withdraw $10,000 from my IRA... how does that work exactly with regards to my home purchase and tax filing?>

ccross,

It sure is a "Quick" question but I don't think you'd get a "guick" answer for your question.

I think as a "new" home buyer, you should really pick up the phone and contact your tax adviser regarding your specific tax structure and its consequences. Don't just rely on messages from this board.

You probably then come back here and share with us.

Instead of withdrawl, some IRA would allow you to "borrow" against it. You then wouldn't have to worry about paying income taxes.

David