UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (11) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: dealing One star, 50 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 169  
Subject: "Done" Date: 7/31/1999 2:34 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
My hubby and I have been retired for 2 yrs. and this is the board for us. Thanks for starting it. I have been consolidating our investments for almost a year now, feels like pruning a bush grown wild. I am new to the Fool site and love it. I am currently considering which of the "Dow" portfolios to use for a portion of our investments and would like to hear your ideas. We each have a Waterhouse IRA in addition to Vanguard funds for him and Janus for me.
Print the post Back To Top
Author: GrayWulff Big red star, 1000 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 17 of 169
Subject: Re: "Done" Date: 7/31/1999 4:54 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
dealing,

Here a few things to think about:

1. The Foolish Four in all the variations have good years and bad years. You might want to try it with a small percentage of your net worth until you get comfortable.

2. Do consider the RP4 version. It is not so heavily biased against high price per share companies as the older or "small dogs" approach.

3. FF works much better in tax sheltered accounts. Otherwise you generate capital gains every year. Personally, I wouldn't use it at all except in a tax sheltered account.

4. Consider some low turnover index funds for your taxable accounts. Or, go buy and hold with some large cap growth stocks (rule makers.)

5. Waterhouse accounts work better with "spiders" than with no-load funds like Waterhouse. Spiders cost $12 per transaction, NLF's cost $25 (or is it $24.)

Cheers,
GW