UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (6) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: BorderPatrol Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 308881  
Subject: "Tool" advice, please. Date: 4/23/1999 1:03 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
*sorry for the long post*
Hello to all the CC regulars, and other lurkers. I'm new to the message board area, though I've been reading the Fool web articles for a few months.  I have a specific question which I'll ask first, and then include other background info for those who want to know "the rest of the story."  Thanks in advance.  I'm excited to jump into the CC group!

The Question: Just yesterday, I received "The Offer" -- 3.9% on balance transfers until May 2000 with Citibank, and no anual fee (of course, the rate on new purchases is much higher-15.65%).  I have $4,500 on an MBNA at 13.9%, and I hope to transfer as much over to the Citibank as possible.

I'm definately of the thought that credit cards, and credit in general, are tools that should be used Foolishly to thier maximum advantage.  Don't fret, I don't think that carying a balance on a credit card is ever advantagous... but I wouldn't mind playing the frequent-flyer game at a later date, like when I have cash on hand to make major purchases.  (More background details below.)