Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif
 
No. of Recommendations: 2
"was our situation a stalemate or did I win? Thank you"

It is a stalemate and a draw, not a win for you.

When there are only 2 Kings on the board it is a draw but not a stalemate. I think the technical term for that draw is that there is insufficient mating material, i.e., you can't mate a King with just a King. The same is true if you have a K on one side and only a K and N or K and B on the other side. Other ways you can draw are having the same exact position repeated 3 times (not necessarily consecutively, as some players believe) or going 50 moves without a pawn being moved or a piece being taken.

Here's a link to a site with a pretty accessible version of the rules. You have to get a couple of pages deep to get to the stalemate rule.

http://www.conservativebookstore.com/chess/

God bless,

Rich
Print the post  

Announcements

What was Your Dumbest Investment?
Share it with us -- and learn from others' stories of flubs.
When Life Gives You Lemons
We all have had hardships and made poor decisions. The important thing is how we respond and grow. Read the story of a Fool who started from nothing, and looks to gain everything.
Community Home
Speak Your Mind, Start Your Blog, Rate Your Stocks

Community Team Fools - who are those TMF's?
Contact Us
Contact Customer Service and other Fool departments here.
Work for Fools?
Winner of the Washingtonian great places to work, and Glassdoor #1 Company to Work For 2015! Have access to all of TMF's online and email products for FREE, and be paid for your contributions to TMF! Click the link and start your Fool career.
Advertisement