UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (6) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: spsullivan Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 76418  
Subject: RE: What Should I do Date: 7/26/2000 4:18 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Rhecker:
So as a teacher I would be in the 28% bracket, putting in funds, but I assume when I retire that there is no way I will be in the 15% bracket. So the roth would be my better choice?

JTMITCH:
As far as 403B's what do I need it for anyway, what benefits are there, why can't I just choose some mutual funds I want to invest in and do it on my own?

Thanks guys for the input!
Shawn
Print the post Back To Top
Author: jbking Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 23681 of 76418
Subject: Re: RE: What Should I do Date: 7/26/2000 4:43 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
The 403(b) would offer tax-deferred growth which isn't what you'd have with a taxable mutual fund account(Now, if the options within the 403(b) are super-stinky this can take away the benefits). Some 403(b)s could have a few options in them if a 403(b) is similar to a 401(k) which I think it is.

There are a few more things to consider with a Roth such as whether the 403(b) changes the deductibility of a Traditional IRA for you along with the other minor differences(No mandatory withdrawal age, access to contributions without penalty) that may also tip some scales.

JB

Author: asarver Two stars, 250 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 23682 of 76418
Subject: Re: RE: What Should I do Date: 7/26/2000 5:16 PM