UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (9) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: Larissa919 Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 308882  
Subject: Rebuilding My Credit Date: 6/11/2001 11:04 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Hello Everyone. I'm a member of this board however I haven't posted in a while. Can anybody answer my question?

I'm a college student who opened too many credit cards and have a few of them that were charged off. Since I'm still in school I vowed to myself that I would not let these debts go for too long without being paid. It is now summer vacation and I want to get a job so I can pay them off. I was wondering if after I did pay them off would it be possible for my mom to get me a card using her credit that would also help me rebuild my credit? Please help. Thanks in advance.

I was also thinking about getting a secure credit card after clearing up all this mess. IF the first option is possible, which is the better choice to make and why? Thanks again.

Print the post Back To Top
Author: Abbaree Two stars, 250 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 75726 of 308882
Subject: Re: Rebuilding My Credit Date: 6/11/2001 11:14 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
I think the best option would be a secured card in your name, this over time will help build your credit back up, also as time goes by these delinquent accounts will have less of an impact on your scores. You can still have your mother add you to one of her cards as an "AU", just make sure they report "AU", most major banks and retail cards do.

Author: Larissa919 Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 75727 of 308882
Subject: Re: Rebuilding My Credit Date: 6/11/2001 11:18 PM