UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (8) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: lsmr409 Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 35367  
Subject: recent Muni Bond fund performance Date: 11/16/2010 12:02 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Greetings,

My dad (in his late 70's) has for a while been invested in an Eaton Vance Muni Bond fund -- EIM. In recent weeks, the fund has been tanking. I am by no means an expert in bonds or bond funds, so thought I would ask the board why this recent severe dip might be occurring. What are the factors behind it? Is this a time to get out, or to hold fast and wait for a rebound?

Thanks so much for any feedback!
Print the post Back To Top
Author: voiceinthedin Big funky green star, 20000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 31849 of 35367
Subject: Re: recent Muni Bond fund performance Date: 11/16/2010 12:27 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
http://stockcharts.com/charts/gallery.html?tbt

basically yields hit a low.....bonds hit a high.....

and now that is reversing.....

please no refudiating this.......but if you wish to be fully brained you can repudiate it.....LOL

Dave

Author: lsmr409 Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 31851 of 35367
Subject: Re: recent Muni Bond fund performance Date: 11/16/2010 3:11 AM
Dave,

Thanks for your reply.

I assume from your comments and the graphics that you linked to that the connection between 20+ year Treasury's and Municipal bonds is quite close?

Todd