UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (3) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: Trader101 Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 75867  
Subject: Retirement Date: 5/27/1998 10:58 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I am just beginning to save for my retirement. I am 32 and have been alotting money every month to my 401k for the last year.

The 401k choices I selected are:
American Century 20th Century Ultra
Algiers American Growth
PBHG
T. Rowe Price Equity Fund

I will continue to alot the funds to the 401k however, I am joining an online broker (Datek is most likely the choice) and will begin purchasing stocks as the meat and potatoes of my personal portfolio.

I believe in long term results and have been considering Microsoft, Intel, Motorola, Coca Cola as my initial purchases.

I'm not rich by any means and will probably begin with only $2300.

My question:

Do you find that most of your successful purchases include a 'gut instinct' or 'gut feeling' that it is a good purchase?

I've read Lynch's book, Ceto's book, and some other ideas, but ultimately I am responsible for my future.

Are there any thoughts as to other purchases I might consider? If so, why?

Thanks

Tom
Print the post Back To Top
Author: Tiggertoo One star, 50 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 3497 of 75867
Subject: Re: Retirement Date: 5/28/1998 11:09 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
>>>Do you find that most of your successful purchases include a 'gut instinct' or 'gut feeling' that it is a good purchase?

I've read Lynch's book, Ceto's book, and some other ideas, but ultimately I am responsible for my future.

Are there any thoughts as to other purchases I might consider? If so, why?

Thanks<<<