UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (9) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: purplebutterfly Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 75381  
Subject: Retirement funding opinions wanted Date: 11/8/2007 1:11 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Hi all. Newbie here posting but I have been reading up.

I make 40,000-50,000 dollars a year depending on overtime as I am a hourly employee. I currently save 20 percent of my income for retirement. 10 percent in my companies 401k plan (company match is 5 percent) and 10 percent in my companies stock which I can buy at a discount. I have 70,000 in my 401K and 80,000 dollars worth of my companies stock. I also have 18,000 in short term CD's and 5,000 in liquid cash. I have a 80,000 fixed rate mortage,I have no credit card debt and my car is paid off. I have self directed myself and everything I have for retirement is in agressive funds/company stock which I willingly did knowing the risks. . I am however approaching 45 years old and that was my magic number to make sure I pulled back that approach and started to tread a little more cautiously.

Assuming the 20 percent level of savings stays the same how would you change things? I have condidered alot of options. One that make sense to me is taking my 401K and stock purchase both down to 5 percent which would give me enough to start fully funding a Roth which I don't have.

Any opinions/options out there for me?

Thanks in advance. PB
Print the post Back To Top
Author: cliff666 Big funky green star, 20000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 60079 of 75381
Subject: Re: Retirement funding opinions wanted Date: 11/8/2007 1:24 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 2