UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (9) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Prev | Next | Next Thread
Author: vinanton5 Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 75381  
Subject: retirement suggestions Date: 6/5/2005 8:37 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 7
first of all thanks to everyone who will offer me any suggestion. i am just trying to get a few more ideas for my retirement savings. a little info about me to i am a 25 y/o officer in the Army, just hit my 3 year mark) will pin captain in the next 2 months or so. my question is two fold, 1)how should i allocate my extra money from hitting the 3 year mark and captain (which will total to 900/month) and 2) i want to look at the level i am funding the TSP since it is not matched for uniformed personnel.

i completely fund my Roth IRA ($333/mo). listed are most of the contents in the roth:
ebay $1800
ibm $1500
ryn $1500 (Raynier, Timber REIT)
sbc $900
siri $500
sjt $950 (San Juan Basin Royality Trust, pipeline REIT)
usspx $2200 (USAA S&P 500 index fund)
xle $1500
vwinx $3600 (Vanguard Wellesey Fund)
vtivx $1600 (Vanguard target 2045)
wmmvf $400
...i do not pay too much attention to classifications of stock/mutual funds, i just pretty much buy what i think will do well.

i also have the tsp (government 401k plan) where the army does NOT match my contributions, i corrently contribute about $700 a month to that because i am deployed in a combat zone and get plenty of extra pay. of note, under current rules the money i put in while deployed will come out tax free since it was earned tax free. my current tsp totals between 7-8k and the fund breakdown follows:
G- 9% (Government Bond fund)
F- 9% (Fixed Income Fund)
C- 27% (Common Stock Fund)
S- 28% (Small Cap Fund)
I- 27% (international Fund)