UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (41) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: folgore Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 35387  
Subject: Risks w/ municipal bonds? Date: 5/19/2009 10:46 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I'm new to bonds in general and municipal bonds in particular. I notice that munis are rated in a similar manner to corporate bonds. Given that they are issued by state and local governments, what's the real risk of default? Any recent examples of that? What's usually the worst case scenario? Premature call? Loss of principal?

It should be obvious I'm looking at those with high yields and less than AAA ratings. (A 9% tax-free yield is a market-beating return with a lot less hassle!)

Thanks in advance!
Print the post Back To Top
Author: folgore Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 27512 of 35387
Subject: Re: Risks w/ municipal bonds? Date: 5/19/2009 11:07 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
An additional question; I know some munis are insured. If a muni is insured, how can it still get a low rating?

Author: WendyBG Big gold star, 5000 posts Top Favorite Fools Top Recommended Fools Feste Award Winner! Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 27513 of 35387
Subject: Re: Risks w/ municipal bonds? Date: 5/19/2009 11:34 AM
Recommendations: 2
<If a muni is insured, how can it still get a low rating? >

The insurers are dramatically undercapitalized relative to their muni books and also took on enormous losing derivatives risks that were outside their core muni insurance businesses.