UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (5) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: Reitnut Big red star, 1000 posts Top Favorite Fools Top Recommended Fools Feste Award Nominee! Feste Award Winner! Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 77644  
Subject: Re: Reitnut - KTP question Date: 2/10/2013 8:14 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 10
Room, of course I don't mind any of your inquiries...however, I feel bad that you felt compelled to read all those damned posts!

You are right: I am certainly beyond my comfort zone when we get outside the REIT space, and hope that anyone reading my non-REIT posts takes them with many more grains of salt than usual.

Although I was a business lawyer for many years, I never got into bankruptcy law; that's a real specialty, and is governed by all sorts of strange rules (and is run by strange people). Thus I can provide no comfort on whether JCP would have to go into bankruptcy to get rid of (or to reduce the principal amounts of) these debentures. Certainly, however, holders are better off with these debentures than they would be if they owned preferred stock of a troubled issuer. The only way to get some comfort on this issue would be to get access to the "debenture indenture" that governs the conditions of default.