UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (6) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: eddiejack100 One star, 50 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 8740  
Subject: Roth and MLPs Date: 1/8/2010 9:51 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 1
I am new to investing,is it a bad Idea to invest in MLPs inside a Roth IRA thanks
Print the post Back To Top
Author: grungeboater Three stars, 500 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 6057 of 8740
Subject: Re: Roth and MLPs Date: 1/9/2010 6:57 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 4
http://www.irs.gov/publications/p598/ch04.html#en_US_publink...

If you like deciphering irs rules then read this.

In short, MLPs in IRAs.. it is not a very bad practice but it can have bad consequences. To mitigate the tax consequences of Unrelated Business Income Tax in my IRA I tend to keep my MLP investments (in the ira) to a few thousand dollars of each partnership. Thus, I own several MLPs in the ira but have only a 100 to 200 shares of each.

For my taxable account I buy a few select MLPs of several hundred shares each. This way I deal with a few K 1s but the size of the distribution makes it worthwhile.

Author: stockmover Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool CAPS All Star Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 6059 of 8740
Subject: Re: Roth and MLPs Date: 1/9/2010 11:15 PM
Recommendations: 0
Hi gb

To mitigate the tax consequences of Unrelated Business Income Tax in my IRA I tend to keep my MLP investments (in the ira) to a few thousand dollars of each partnership. Thus, I own several MLPs in the ira but have only a 100 to 200 shares of each.