UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (7) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: MrDP Big red star, 1000 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 76394  
Subject: Roth IRA Rollover Date: 2/22/2000 11:58 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Hi everybody,
I'm 25 years old and have been putting the maximum amount into a regular IRA since I was 18 (back in 1992). Anyways, I am considering rolling over the entire amount (~$45k) into a Roth IRA now while I still make minimal amounts of income (I'm still a student). The only thing is, I may have to take out a loan to pay the taxes. I could sign up for a low rate (6.9% or so) credit card intro rate and pay off the tax bill within that intro period.

My question to you is: Do you think its worth it?

MrDP
Print the post Back To Top
Author: pauleckler Big funky green star, 20000 posts Top Favorite Fools Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 19389 of 76394
Subject: Re: Roth IRA Rollover Date: 2/22/2000 12:07 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Yes, its worth it assuming you eventually get a good job, wind up in a higher tax bracket and that continues even after retirement or your investments do extremely well and you have a very large balance in the account at retirement.

But these are all unknowns. You will have to decide for yourself what is likely to happen in your case. Personally, I would put a few numbers into a spreadsheet program and see where the breakeven points are.

Best of luck to you.

Author: mattpam Three stars, 500 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 19391 of 76394
Subject: Re: Roth IRA Rollover Date: 2/22/2000 12:16 PM