Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (1) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: Willdzn Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 18386  
Subject: Rule Maker - Sizing Up Adobe Date: 4/17/2000 11:48 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 1
As a graphic artist I'd like to share some of my knowledge about and beliefs in Adobe Systems and give a "human" non-numbers assessment of the company.

Adobe software is the premiere software for almost all the work that is done in my field, with the exception of QuarkXpress which I hope someday will accept to sell out to Adobe. If so Adobe will have pretty much a monopoly in the professional graphic design field. Since QuarkXpress is the favorite page layout software; interfacing it with Adobe software will be a big plus for us. Adobe Systems have continually put out and improved on excellent easy to learn and use products.

Moreover there is a fascination with design amongst the average non-artistically trained user that seems to be one of the major draws in purchasing a PC these days. I say this in view of the number of people we encounter who claim to be designers simply because they own a PC and believe that the ability to print fonts and images previously done through "paste-up" traditional means makes them so. Place an ad for a graphic artist these days and you'll receive literally thousands of responses; most from people who are nowhere close to being qualified.

These "home" users of course want the same software that professionals use and have no problem purchasing or "borrowing" these products. I speculate that the resurgence of Apple's MacIntosh and the enthusiasm of these "home" designers may be the cause of Adobe's 1999 increase in income.