No. of Recommendations: 1
As residents in a high-tax state (CA), can you think of any reason why it would be stupid or short-sighted to put the majority of our cash, currently held in money market accounts, into 6 month T bills instead? We would, of course, leave sufficient funds in a money market account for a year's worth of living expenses in case of emergency. Since T bills are exempt from state taxes, this seems like a win. Also, the rate of return seems better than putting it in a state-specific tax exempt money market fund.

Am I missing something here?? Thanks in advance.
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 0
I am a resident of CA and agree T-bills are a great investment.

I have split my contigency fund into several vehicles. Current rates are.

Vanguard MM checking account CA-tax free 3.25% = 4.78% tax adj.
4 week T-bill ladder 5.227% = 5.62% tax adj.
13 week T-bill ladder 5.124% = 5.51% tax adj.

--
whyohwhyoh
Nope not missing a thing other than you may want to consider 4 week bills also. Going shorter could allow you to put some of your e-fund into treasuries, assuming you are willing to wait 4 weeks to tap the e-fund.

jack
No. of Recommendations: 4
Blearynet,

Shifting assets around is, at bottom, a timing problem. So let me ask this question: Why weren't you beginning to rotate some money into T-Bills almost two years ago when the Fed began their rate hikes? What that suggests to me, and my apologies in advance if I guessed wrong, is that you don't have in place a principled and disciplined way of making of making yield comparisons, nor a principled and disciplined way of acting on your results, which consists of at least three things: a way of telling “When to get in?” “When to get out?” and “How much?”