Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 15
DH and I were at McD's having a pop and reading the newspaper/book. We were also discussing the net worth statement I had just done. I have been doing this every two months for the past year.

When we got married in July 2000, our goal was to have $250k in net worth in 5 years. As of today, we're at $260k. We were discussing how much we would be able to save this year now that we are no longer paying for anything big - I finished my master's in August and we have no debt except our mortgage. He said that $300k would be a good goal to have and that we'd meet it if the stock market keeps doing well. I think we can do better:

DH 401k contribution - $13000 + 50% match = $19500
Ameritrade taxable account contributions of $2000/mo = $24000
Vanguard automatic deductions of $600/mo = $7200
529 plan contributions $150/mo x 2 = $3600

These figures alone add up to $54,300! This year we grossed approx. $115k and next year we'll probably be at about 120k. That's a savings rate of almost 50%!

I also have a portion of my paycheck contributed to my pension and am buying 5 years of service ($225/paycheck). The net worth we just did includes our Roth IRA contributions (the money is in our checking account.) We have a 10 year mortgage, so much of our payment goes to principle. I wonder if we could get the savings rate up to 60%?

FIRE here we come!

Monica
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 1
When we got married in July 2000, our goal was to have $250k in net worth in 5 years. As of today, we're at $260k. We were discussing how much we would be able to save this year now that we are no longer paying for anything big - I finished my master's in August and we have no debt except our mortgage. He said that $300k would be a good goal to have and that we'd meet it if the stock market keeps doing well. I think we can do better:

DH 401k contribution - $13000 + 50% match = $19500