UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (10) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: H2OBURY Three stars, 500 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 251809  
Subject: Screens vs timing - or both. Date: 12/10/2012 12:40 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 2
I have been investing using MI with screens since 1998, and I do not know exactly when or why, but I seem to have gotten away from our MI screens and more into basic ETF's using our well discussed timing indicators. Perhaps living through two crashes has made me more conservative in my middle age.

Anyone else doing the same?
Print the post Back To Top
Author: LonghornBoy Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 240508 of 251809
Subject: Re: Screens vs timing - or both. Date: 12/10/2012 3:50 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
using our well discussed timing indicators.

Are you referring to the three bear catchers; or are there others on your list that you're using? As for the bear catchers, they do a nice job of helping to control volatility, but do only a fair job of enhancing returns...

Author: Rayvt Big gold star, 5000 posts Top Favorite Fools Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 240510 of 251809
Subject: Re: Screens vs timing - or both. Date: 12/10/2012 4:56 PM
Recommendations: 8
Yes. But I'm a simple kind of guy. No timing indicators with sexy names, no fancy dancing. Just plain simple 43-week SMA of the S&P500 with a little bit of hysteresis to reduce whipsaws.