UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (8) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: xraymd Big gold star, 5000 posts Feste Award Nominee! Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 75793  
Subject: Seeking Portfolio Ideas Date: 11/1/1999 6:32 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Greetings. I usually lurk on the Credit Card board but now it is time to head over here and ask for assistance and guidance. I'm a medical resident (age 43, single, no kids) with a whop of debt but also have a $84K Roth IRA that I wish to prod into life and I'm seeking thoughts on ways to go with it.

Right now I have about $25K in S&P 500 funds, about $49K (sadly) in the money market and about $10K divided among 4-5 mutual funds. I will be adding $2K per year to the Roth for as long as I am eligible (about another 4-5 years).

I am not averse to risk but don't wish to drop $49K all at once into some new vehicle. I wish to begin to diversify it now and, though I have READ the 13 Steps, still hope to hear of some sample PLANS that anybody out there might favor and might be willing to share with me.

Looking forward to any and all comments and ideas. Thanks for your anticipated input!

xraymd
Print the post Back To Top
Author: BluesH One star, 50 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 15013 of 75793
Subject: Re: Seeking Portfolio Ideas Date: 11/1/1999 7:01 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Right now I have about $25K in S&P 500 funds, about $49K (sadly) in the money market and about $10K divided among 4-5 mutual funds. I will be adding $2K per year to the Roth for as long as I am eligible (about another 4-5 years).

I am not averse to risk but don't wish to drop $49K all at once into some new vehicle.