UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (6) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: Tastylunch Three stars, 500 posts Feste Award Nominee! Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 597  
Subject: Seems like there ought to be a way... Date: 8/22/2008 5:20 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 3
To rip the basic quick definitions of a particular company from CAPS into Fool wiki without doing each one manually.

I don't mind doing data entry , but it does seem a bit inefficient to have all that wonderful information (company descriptions e.g.) in CAPS and have to retype it manually into the wiki.

If this is possible ( I fully admit I am no programmer so I can't truly speak to the feasibility of such an action) then I think it could quickly provide a nice skeleton for the wiki and allow us to focus more on the stuff people will really want the wiki for, specific tidbits on a company, terminology, people, investing techniques etc etc.

Just a thought.

keep up the good work, guys

this project I think has a lot of potential.
Could be a great Investopedia.com killer.
I know I certainly wouldn't mind having one less site to check for information. :-)
Print the post Back To Top
Author: havefunsaving Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Ticker Guide Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 254 of 597
Subject: Re: Seems like there ought to be a way... Date: 8/27/2008 3:59 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
To rip the basic quick definitions of a particular company from CAPS into Fool wiki without doing each one manually.

Great thought!