UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (5) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: sgripne Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 75379  
Subject: self directed IRA's for direct investing Date: 7/5/2000 6:53 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I'm new to the message board. Since I am a PhD student and don't have much money to invest, I am interested in direct investment plans, ideally through a Roth IRA.

However, I am having trouble finding any banks or credit unions that offer custodial services of a self directed Roth IRA to allow me to purchase directly. Am I making any sense and does anyone have any advice? Steph
Print the post Back To Top
Author: jbking Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 23105 of 75379
Subject: Re: self directed IRA's for direct investing Date: 7/5/2000 7:09 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
I think this is what is happening:

1) You want to buy stocks or stock mutual funds.

2) The banks and credit unions don't really offer access to these as this is a bit out of their league, although they likely know someone that could help.

My suggestion would be to look for either a mutual fund company or discount broker that has what it is you want.

JB

PS - My Roth is with Vanguard, fyi.

Author: TMFExRO Big red star, 1000 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 23106 of 75379
Subject: Re: self directed IRA's for direct investing Date: 7/5/2000 7:10 PM
Recommendations: 1
<< However, I am having trouble finding any banks or credit unions that offer custodial services of a self directed Roth IRA to allow me to purchase directly. Am I making any sense and does anyone have any advice? >>