UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (6) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: mikeg1382 Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 75383  
Subject: Sell and buy again? Date: 4/22/2002 6:47 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I am fairly new to investing, and I am not sure this is the right place to post this, but any help would be appreciated.
A while back I bought 15 shares of GE at $38, and now they are down to $32. Should I sell them, then buy again at this price? I am pretty sure that the company is not going under and their price will rise again, but it would be a short term sale (under a year) and I am not sure if it would be worth it. I would also like to get a Foolish perspective on this. Thanks in advance!

Mike in NJ
Print the post Back To Top
Author: joebedford Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 34306 of 75383
Subject: Re: Sell and buy again? Date: 4/22/2002 7:08 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 1
Um, well, you're not really giving us enough info here. :-) What would be your goal in selling, then repurchasing? For some reason, I feel like you are trying to lower your cost basis, but are you considering that you are taking a capital loss by selling? (You bought them for $570, but you are only going to get $480 if you sell now.) Are you trying to offset capital gains elsewhere in your portfolio? I'm really not sure where you are going with this. Based on the info on the table, I would say hold what you have, if you feel like the company is sound. If you like the $32 price, then buy more.

Thanks!
Joe