Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (3) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: yeidel Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 121591  
Subject: SEP IRA Date: 4/8/1998 1:56 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I'm thinking of opening a SEP IRA with $6,000.00. Vanguard appeals to me because they have minimal fees. Any other suggestions on where to open the SEP IRA are welcome.
I'm new at investing, and I'm wondering how to invest this $6,000.00 I have no stocks so I'm thinking about the S & P 500 and maybe something else.
I already have a variable annuity with Franklin. After reading the Forbes Feb. 9th article-"You have to be an idiot to have a variable annuity"-I realize it's time I started to learn about investing.. I've averaged about 11% annually with very little risk.
I'd really like some feedback.
Print the post Back To Top
Author: TMFTaxes Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 3339 of 121591
Subject: Re: SEP IRA Date: 4/8/1998 10:34 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
[[ I'm thinking of opening a SEP IRA with $6,000.00. Vanguard appeals to me because they have
minimal fees. Any other suggestions on where to open the SEP IRA are welcome.]]

While I'm not going to comment on your investment vehicle, I'm a little concerned about your $6k SEP contribution. Since you are new to investing, I'm concerned that you may not know that your SEP deduction and contribution is based upon your net Schedule C income (or some other earned income). And, based upon your SEP amount, your Sch C income must amount to about $46,000. Is this the case? If not, you'll need some help with your taxes prior to your investing.