UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (6) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: nanandpaul Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 76237  
Subject: SEP IRA Max Contribution? Date: 3/4/2005 2:48 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I am considering an offer from a company that is offering a 25% yearly contribution to a SEP IRA. I have no experience with this type of IRA, but the searching the MF web site, I learned that the maximum contribution has a limit of 15% of the annual salary. Can somebody clear this up for me?

Thanks,
Paul
Print the post Back To Top
Author: ziggy29 Big funky green star, 20000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 44984 of 76237
Subject: Re: SEP IRA Max Contribution? Date: 3/4/2005 3:14 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
>> I am considering an offer from a company that is offering a 25% yearly contribution to a SEP IRA. I have no experience with this type of IRA, but the searching the MF web site, I learned that the maximum contribution has a limit of 15% of the annual salary. Can somebody clear this up for me? <<

It used to be 15%; recent tax law changes increased this to 25% (I think this was in 2002).

For 2005, it's the lesser of 25% of salary or $42,000 ($46,000 if age 50+).

Author: nanandpaul Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 44985 of 76237
Subject: Re: SEP IRA Max Contribution? Date: 3/4/2005 3:37 PM
Thanks!

Author: phalanx001 Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 44986 of 76237
Subject: Re: SEP IRA Max Contribution? Date: 3/4/2005 7:08 PM