UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (4) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: trojga Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 35365  
Subject: Series "I" Savings Bonds Date: 4/17/2001 7:43 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Is there a downside to owning Series "I" Bonds?

At the current rate (6.49%) it really looks like a good deal to me.

I'm new to investing ... finally out of debt and looking to build a
nest egg (3 month living expenses - then on to stocks!) ... so any
advice will be appreciated.
Print the post Back To Top
Author: jrr7 Big gold star, 5000 posts Feste Award Nominee! Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 1509 of 35365
Subject: Re: Series "I" Savings Bonds Date: 4/17/2001 10:40 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
The I-Bonds' rate is not fixed. They are based on the inflation rate. If the inflation rate changes, so will the interest rate. Some have criticized the government for ignoring certain essential factors in calculating inflation.

Also, the interest rate is based on the inflation rate a while ago. If you redeem them during a period of high inflation, there won't be as much inflation protection.

Still, I think they're a good deal when used in moderation.

Author: ziggy29 Big funky green star, 20000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 1510 of 35365
Subject: Re: Series "I" Savings Bonds Date: 4/17/2001 12:16 PM
>> Is there a downside to owning Series "I" Bonds?

At the current rate (6.49%) it really looks like a good deal to me.
<<