UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (4) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: Chitown99 Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 76418  
Subject: Should I convert IRAs to Roth IRAs? Date: 8/19/2005 12:47 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I've been recently married for the first time and my husband and I have been trying to put together a coordinated strategy for our retirement savings, including what to do with our respective retirement accounts. His story is a little wackier, but here's my question:

I was a corporate consultant for 3 years in my early 20's, so I had a respectable 401(k) balance. I also opened a Roth IRAs at the time. But since then I've left for a much lower-paying job working at a private school. I rolled my 401(k) into a Rollover IRA when I left, because there were ridiculous restrictions on the investments allowed while it was under my old employer's umbrella, and have been happy with its performance so far. I've also joined the 403(b) program at my school, and I max that out.

Husband has a Roth also, and we have decided to start maxing out our Roth contributions going forward, something we weren't really doing before. But I have another question - is it possible to convert my Rollover IRA into a Roth IRA, even though I already have one? And if so, should I?